INVESTMENTS IN HOTELS AND BUSINESS AND HOTEL RESIDENCES

Hotels :

Hotels are often presented and perceived as safe and reliable investments. This is all the more true in France, which remains the number one tourist destination in the world and where the occupancy rate for hotels remains exceptionally high. 

Up to now reserved for professionals, investment in hotels is spreading among individuals who appreciate its advantageous returns on investment and its favourable tax regime (exemptions from the real estate wealth tax (IFI), tax reductions, etc.).

Thus, savers are offered several formulations to invest in specialised funds or club deals as shareholders and/or creditors.

But these various investments are bound to the economic context and even the geopolitical situation (terrorist attacks, etc.) are also not protected from poor economic management by the operator and present a certain number of legal risks as well.

Thanks to its know-how and the extreme specialisation of its attorneys, Goethe Avocats is familiar with all of these risks and assists the investors it defends in all of their undertakings, particularly against the operators.

Business and hotel residences :

 

Business and hotel residences have the same legal status as tourism residences and thus designate commercial lodging establishments that offer multiple furnished assets for rent.

Encouraged by advantageous taxation (the LMNP status [Non-Professional Renter of Furnished Rentals], recovery of VAT when purchasing the asset, deduction of actual costs and borrowing interest from the overall income, etc.), these properties have developed rapidly, attracting tourists as well as professionals on business trips far from their principal residences.

 

As with tourism residences, numerous disputes may arise between the owners and the operators managing these rentals from A to Z, although the signature of the leases commits both parties, bound hand and foot, for a minimum duration of 9 years.

The terms for revising the rents, the distribution of charges, the renewal of the lease (etc.) are all possible sticking points although the clauses in the lease remain quite free. Thus, the investor must be particularly attentive when these are defined.

Thanks to its expertise and its experience in managed real estate, Goethe Avocats assists its clients in all of the problems encountered and deploys a defence arsenal ranging from negotiation to litigation, whether in court or outside of court

 

 

 

Examples of issues addressed recently by the Firm :

 

  • Rent disputes (unpaid rents, rent revisions, etc.),

  • Negotiation of lease renewals,

  • Searching for a new operator or a “reconversion” solution for the establishments,

  • Handling of construction issues,

  • Handling of co-ownership problems,

  • Assistance in the context of procedures for court-ordered reorganisation/liquidation of the operator, negotiations with candidates to take over operations,

  • Procedures for compensation for harm suffered by the co-owners as a result of actions by various participants in the operation (promoters-sellers/ estate management advisors/ notaries/ operators, etc.).

© 2018 by JAPPAL-UI

  • Facebook Goethe Avocats
  • LinkedIn Goethe Avocats

© 2018 par JAPPAL-UI

  • Facebook Goethe Avocats
  • LinkedIn Goethe Avocats

​INVESTISSEMENTS EN HÔTELS ET RÉSIDENCES D'AFFAIRES ET HÔTELIERES

Hôtels :

Les hôtels sont souvent présentés et perçus comme des investissements sûrs et fiables. C’est d’autant plus vrai en France qui demeure la première destination touristique mondiale et où le taux d’occupation des hôtels reste exceptionnellement élevé.

 

Jusqu’alors réservé aux professionnels, l’investissement dans les hôtels tend à se démocratiser chez les particuliers qui apprécient son taux de rendements avantageux et son régime fiscal favorable (exonérations IFI, réduction d’impôts…).

Plusieurs formules sont ainsi proposées aux épargnants pour investir dans des  fonds spécialisés ou des clubs deal en qualité d’actionnaires et/ou de créanciers.


Mais ces différents investissements liés au contexte économique, voire géopolitique (attentats…), ne sont pas à l’abri non plus d’une mauvaise gestion économique de l’exploitant et présentent également un certain nombre de risques juridiques.

Le cabinet Goethe, grâce à son savoir-faire et l’extrême spécialisation de ses avocats, maîtrise l’ensemble de ces risques et accompagne les investisseurs défendus dans toutes leurs démarches, notamment contre les exploitants.

Résidences d’affaires et hôtelières :

 

Les résidences d’affaires et les résidences hôtelières ont la même acception juridique que les résidences de tourisme et désignent donc des établissements commerciaux d’hébergement qui proposent plusieurs biens meublés en location.

Encouragées par une fiscalité avantageuse (statut LMNP, récupération de la TVA lors de l’achat du bien, déduction de frais réels et des intérêts d’emprunts sur les revenus globaux..), ces habitats se sont rapidement développés, attirant tout aussi bien des touristes que des professionnels en déplacement loin de leurs résidences principales.

 

Comme pour les résidences de tourisme, nombre de contentieux peuvent survenir entre les propriétaires et les exploitants qui gèrent ces locations de A à Z d’autant la signature des baux engage les deux parties, pieds et poings liés, pour une durée de 9 ans minimum.

Les modalités de révision des loyers, la répartition des charges, le renouvellement du bail (…) sont autant de points d’achoppements possibles alors que les clauses du contrat restent assez libres. Il appartient donc à l’investisseur d’y être particulièrement attentif au moment de leur définition.

Grâce à son expertise et son expérience en immobilier géré, le cabinet Goethe Avocats assiste ses clients dans toutes les problématiques rencontrées et déploie un arsenal de défense allant de la négociation au contentieux, judiciaires ou extra-judiciaires.

 

 

 

Exemples de problématiques traitées tout récemment par le Cabinet :

 

  • Contentieux des loyers (impayés, loyers renouvelés…),

  • Négociation sur le renouvellement de baux,

  • Recherche de nouvel exploitant ou de solution de « reconversion » des établissements,

  • Prise en charge de désordres constructifs,

  • Prise en charge de problématiques de copropriété,

  • Assistance dans le cadre de la procédure de redressement/liquidation judiciaire de l’exploitant, négociations avec les candidats repreneurs,

  • Procédures en indemnisation du préjudice subi par les copropriétaires du fait des agissements des différents intervenants à l’opération (promoteurs-vendeurs/conseiller en gestion de patrimoine/notaire/ exploitants…).